Only Human

United Kingdom| Views: 47

While British Prime Minister Boris Johnson fights with all his might to impose a No Deal Brexit for October 30th, even putting at risk his country’s democracy, photographer Martin Parr, to whom the June 23, 2016 vote for “Leave” dealt a massive blow, draws a portrait of a kingdom that has never been less united.

 

Standing before his acerbic photographs, you simply have to smile. Fascinated by British identity, which he finds both attractive and repulsive, this disciple of vernacular photography, a chronicler of daily life, has been shooting images of his compatriots since the 1970s. His shots embody the impacts of globalization—mass consumption and tourism, migrations—, boredom, the kitschiest side of the British working class, as well as entertainment society at its most ridiculous, with a biting irony that has become his calling card.

And yet, the humor in his most recent exhibition “Only Human”, presented at the National Portrait Gallery of London, is more grating than usual. Beyond the cursory entertainment, the photographs translate a profound pessimism over the political instability that has gripped the United Kingdom. In fact, an entire room is dedicated to shots taken in “Pro-Brexit” regions: Black Country, Cornwall, Essex.

In this room, visitors come across a pit bull donning a small red and white coat – the canine clone of his owners dressed in St George’s Day colors-, red-faced Welsh farmers battling with undisciplined sheep in a contest, retirees meeting in a supermarket, or even a community of Cornwall fishermen, all displayed on equal footing.

For Martin Parr, a self-proclaimed “fervent European”, this encounter with the “Leave”-voting majority in more modest and remote regions may seem like a kind of “psychoanalysis”. But it also sheds light on the multicultural reality of a society that is more complex than it seems. The Cornwall fishermen, for example, contrary to popular thought, are far from being intransient “Brexiters”. Although the current European quotas do not always play in their favor, many of them know that losing trade deals with Europe could be catastrophic: they affect about 75% of British fishing.

If the artist seems satisfied with capturing the daily lives of ordinary people, his photos are not overtly political. The omnipresent Union Jack (flag of the UK) and the closed faces symptomatic of a Great Britain in the throes of upheaval, reveal concern about the future.

At the end of the exhibit, one title stands out, reminding visitors as they leave of the dilemma that has been tearing at the United Kingdom for three years now: “Leave” or “Remain”?

 

Translation by Maya Dalinsky
Cover: Martin Parr, Only Human, Phaïdon 2019.

Leave a Reply

Only Human par Zoé Cosson parrcover

Only Human

Royaume-Uni| Vues: 334

Alors que le premier ministre anglais Boris Johnson se bat par tous les moyens pour imposer le No Deal d’ici le 30 octobre prochain au risque de mettre à mal la démocratie de son pays, le photographe Martin Parr, pour qui le vote « Leave » du 23 juin 2016 a été un véritable coup de massue, tire le portait d’un royaume plus désuni que jamais.

 

Devant ses photographies acides, le sourire a toujours été de mise. Fasciné par l’identité britannique, qui l’attire autant qu’elle le rebute, cet adepte de la photographie vernaculaire, à la manière d’un chroniqueur de la vie quotidienne, capture les images de ses compatriotes depuis les années 1970. Ses clichés incarnent les impacts de la mondialisation – le consumérisme et le tourisme de masse, les migrations -, l’ennui, l’imagerie britannique populaire la plus kitsch tout comme la civilisation des loisirs dans ce qu’elle a de plus dérisoire, avec une ironie mordante qui a fait sa renommée.

Toutefois, l’humour présent dans sa dernière exposition « Only Human » présentée à la National Portrait Gallery de Londres, se fait plus grinçant que d’habitude. Au-delà du divertissement premier, les photographies semblent traduire le pessimisme de l’artiste face à l’instabilité politique que traverse le Royaume-Uni. Une salle entière se focalise d’ailleurs sur des images prises dans les régions « Pro-Brexit » : Black Country, Cornouailles, Essex.

Dans cette pièce, les visiteurs découvrent sur un même pied d’égalité un pitbull accoutré d’un mini-manteau rouge et blanc – clone canin de ses maîtres habillés aux couleurs de la St George’s Day -, des agriculteurs du pays de Galles aux faces rouges luttant contre des moutons indisciplinés lors d’un concours agricole, des retraités croisés dans des supermarchés ou encore la communauté de pêcheurs des Cornouailles.

Pour Martin Parr, qui se revendique « fervent européen », aller à la rencontre des habitants dans ces régions modestes et reculées qui ont voté en majorité « Leave », s’apparente à une forme de « psychanalyse ». C’est l’occasion aussi de mettre en lumière la réalité d’une société multiculturelle plus complexe qu’il n’y paraît. Les pêcheurs des Cornouailles, par exemple, contrairement aux idées reçues, sont loin d’être tous des « brexiters » intransigeants. Bien que les quotas européens actuels ne leur soient pas toujours favorables, une grande partie d’entre eux sont conscients que perdre un accord commercial avec l’Europe serait catastrophique : celle-ci importe environ 75% des pêches britanniques.

Si l’artiste semble se contenter de capter des gens ordinaires dans leur quotidien, ses photographies n’étant pas ouvertement politiques, l’omniprésence de l’Union Jack (le drapeau du Royaume-Uni), les visages souvent fermés sont symptomatiques d’une Grande-Bretagne en plein bouleversement, inquiète de son avenir.

À la fin de l’exposition, un cartel interpelle une dernière fois les visiteurs en les renvoyant au dilemme qui déchire le Royaume-Uni depuis trois ans : « Leave » ou « Remain ». « Partir » ou « Rester » ?

 

Couverture : Martin Parr, Only Human, Phaïdon 2019.

Laissez un commentaire