Artists Remake the World
The Series

The Series : « Aspects of contemporary art criticism worldwide »

Whether they are articles published at the end of an AICA symposium or produced by Switch (on Paper) following an international call for papers, the texts in this dossier bear witness to the diversity, singularity and permanence of an art critic whose place remains more than ever necessary to grasp the issues at stake in the world, placing artists and culture at the heart of the debate. A partnership that materializes a community of spirit and the active support of Switch (on Paper) for art critics, whose status and future are the subject of in-depth reflection.

With the support of the Emerige Endowment Fund and Région Sud within the framework of Manifesta 13 Marseille.

The Author

The Author : Amalina Bomnin Hernández

Biography

Amalina Bomnin Hernández is a writer, curator, and founding professor of the University of the Arts in Guayaquil, Ecuador, where she teaches in the Transversal Department of Critical Theories and Experimental Practices.

Contributions
See all the authors +
Go deeperPartnership

Partnership :

Publishing Partnership with AICA International

This text by Amalina Bomnin Hernández is published in partnership with AICA following an international call for participation launched at the end of 2019. Out of some sixty proposals for articles, fourteen have been selected and will be published from 28 August as part of Manifesta 13 Marseille within the programme « Les Parallèles du Sud ».

AICA (International Association of Art Critics) is an NGO founded in 1950 under UNESCO patronage for the purpose of reinforcing worldwide freedom of speech in the area of art criticism and ensure its diversity. Its missions include promoting the discipline in the visual arts by contributing to ensuring sound methodological foundations, protecting the moral and professional interests of art critics by defending the rights of all members equally, ensuring permanent communication among all members by encouraging national and international meetings, improving and facilitating information and international exchanges in the visual arts and contributing to reciprocal knowledge and closer understanding between differing cultures.

AICA News

 

Associate publisher, the Emerige Endowment Fund

Emerige: a proactive patron of the arts

In the firm belief that art has the power to change our daily reality, Emerige is a corporate sponsor committed to contemporary creativity by bringing culture closer to everyone, but especially the youngest in society. The Emerige Endowment Fund encourages young French artists via its Emerige Revelations Grant Scheme and its support for arts and culture educational programmes.

As a company devoted to building more beautiful cities for everyone, Emerige also contributes to bringing more art into urban communities by acquiring or commissioning contemporary art pieces under the terms of the 1 Building, 1 Artwork charter.

The Emerige Endowment Fund

 

Parallèles du Sud, Manifesta 13 Marseille

This series of publications published in partnership with AICA International (International Association of Art Critics) is one of the 86 projects labeled “Les Parallèles du Sud”, as part of MANIFESTA 13, which will take place in Marseille from 28 August to 29 November 2020.

Manifesta is the European Nomadic Biennial, which originated in the early 1990s in response to the political, economic, and social change following the end of the Cold War and the subsequent steps towards European integration. Manifesta has developed into a platform for dialogue between art and society by inviting the cultural and artistic community to produce new creative experiences with, and for, the context in which it takes place. Manifesta rethinks the relations between culture and society investigating and catalysing positive social change in Europe through contemporary culture in a continuous dialogue with the social sphere of a specific place.

Manifesta was founded by the Dutch art historian, Hedwig Fijen. Each new edition is fundraised individually and managed by a mix of permanent international team and local specialists. Manifesta is working from its offices in Amsterdam and Marseille.

Manifesta 13

Around the text
Investigation by Amalina Bomnin Hernández
15 October 2020

Performance as Cannibal Delicacy in the Work of Saskia Calderón

Investigation by Amalina Bomnin Hernández

The work of Saskia Calderón, a performer trained in visual arts and lyric singing, is an atypical example of a proposal that destabilizes. She creates powerful comments on the sexist, racist, and xenophobic aspects of the Western paradigm of corporate mentality and extractive policies in Latin American countries. This article underlines the uniqueness of her work within a context that has been reluctant to make performance visible, due, among other factors, to the fragility of the Ecuadorian institutional system. Her situated artistic creations, thanks to the relevance and subtle methodology of her approach—like a cannibal delicacy—become civic artivism.

Read also...

Les artistes refont le monde
Le dossier

Le dossier : « Aspects de la critique d’art internationale contemporaine »

Qu’il s’agisse d’articles publiés à l’issue d’un symposium AICA ou produits par Switch (on Paper) suite à un appel à candidature international, les textes réunis dans ce dossier témoignent de la diversité, de la singularité et de la permanence d’une critique d’art dont la place reste plus que jamais nécessaire pour appréhender les enjeux du monde, en replaçant les artistes et la culture au cœur du débat. Un partenariat qui matérialise une communauté d’esprit et le soutien actif de Switch (on Paper) pour les critiques d’art, dont le statut et l’avenir font l’objet d’une réflexion de fond.

L’Association internationale des critiques d’art, (AICA) est une ONG créée en 1950 sous le patronage de l’UNESCO dans le but de renforcer mondialement la libre expression de la critique d’art et d’en assurer la diversité. Elle a pour missions, la promotion de la discipline dans le domaine de l’art en renforçant ses fondements méthodologiques ; la protection des intérêts moraux et professionnels des critiques d’art en faisant valoir, en commun, les droits de tous ses membres ; l’assurance d’une liaison permanente entre tous ses membres en favorisant les rencontres nationales et internationales ; l’amélioration et l’extension de l’information et des échanges dans le domaine des arts plastiques et la contribution au rapprochement et à la connaissance réciproque des cultures.

L'auteur

L'auteur : Amalina Bomnin Hernández

Biographie

Amalina Bomnin Hernández est écrivaine, conservatrice et professeur fondatrice de l’Université des Arts de Guayaquil, en Équateur, où elle enseigne au Département transversal des théories critiques et des pratiques expérimentales.

Contributions
Voir tous les auteurs +
Aller plus loinPartenariat

Partenariat :

Partenariat éditorial avec AICA International

Ce texte de Amalina Bomnin Hernández est publié dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec l’AICA suite à un appel à participation international lancé à la fin de l’année 2019. Sur une soixantaine de propositions d’articles, quatorze ont été retenues et sont publiées à partir du 28 août dans le cadre de Manifesta 13 Marseille au sein du programme Les Parallèles du Sud.

L’Association internationale des critiques d’art, (AICA) est une ONG créée en 1950 sous le patronage de l’UNESCO dans le but de renforcer mondialement la libre expression de la critique d’art et d’en assurer la diversité. Elle a pour missions, la promotion de la discipline dans le domaine de l’art en renforçant ses fondements méthodologiques ; la protection des intérêts moraux et professionnels des critiques d’art en faisant valoir, en commun, les droits de tous ses membres ; l’assurance d’une liaison permanente entre tous ses membres en favorisant les rencontres nationales et internationales ; l’amélioration et l’extension de l’information et des échanges dans le domaine des arts plastiques et la contribution au rapprochement et à la connaissance réciproque des cultures.

AICA News

 

Éditeur Associé, Fonds de dotation Emerige

Emerige: un mécène militant de la culture

Ce texte comme tous les textes publiés en partenariat avec l’AICA (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art) entre les mois d’août, septembre, octobre et novembre 2020, est coproduit avec le soutien du Fonds de dotation Emerige.
Convaincu que l’art peut changer le quotidien, Emerige est un mécène engagé en faveur de la création contemporaine et du rapprochement de la culture avec tous les publics, en particulier les plus jeunes. Le Fonds de dotation Emerige encourage les jeunes artistes de la scène française via la Bourse Révélations Emerige et soutient des programmes d’éducation artistique et culturelle.

Bâtisseur d’une ville plus innovante, plus durable et plus généreuse, le groupe contribue également à l’essor de l’art dans la ville, à travers l’acquisition et la commande d’œuvres d’art dans le cadre de la charte « 1 immeuble, 1 œuvre ».

Fonds de dotation Emerige

 

Parallèles du Sud, Manifesta 13 Marseille

Cette série de publications publiées en partenariat l’AICA (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art) fait partie des 86 projets labellisés « Les Parallèles du Sud », dans le cadre de MANIFESTA 13 qui se déroulera à Marseille du 28 août au 29 novembre 2020.

Créée par l’historienne de l’art néerlandaise Hedwig Fijen, Manifesta est l’unique biennale européenne itinérante qui a vu le jour dans les années 1990 en réponse aux changements politiques, économiques et sociaux qui ont suivi la fin de la guerre froide, dans un contexte d’intégration européenne. Manifesta est progressivement devenue une plateforme d’échanges entre l’art et la société où le milieu artistique et culturel est invité à produire de nouvelles expériences créatrices avec, et pour, le contexte dans lequel il s’inscrit. Manifesta repense les relations entre la culture et la société en explorant et en catalysant les changements sociaux positifs en Europe à travers la culture contemporaine, dans un dialogue continu avec la sphère sociale du lieu d’accueil.

Organisée tous les deux ans dans une ville d’accueil différente, chaque nouvelle édition a ses fonds propres et est gérée par un mix d’équipe permanente internationale et de spécialistes locaux. Manifesta travaille depuis ses bureaux à Amsterdam et Marseille.

Manifesta 13

Autour du texte
Investigation par Amalina Bomnin Hernández
15 octobre 2020

Performance as Cannibal Delicacy in the Work of Saskia Calderón

Investigation par Amalina Bomnin Hernández

The work of Saskia Calderón, a performer trained in visual arts and lyric singing, is an atypical example of a proposal that destabilizes. She creates powerful comments on the sexist, racist, and xenophobic aspects of the Western paradigm of corporate mentality and extractive policies in Latin American countries. This article underlines the uniqueness of her work within a context that has been reluctant to make performance visible, due, among other factors, to the fragility of the Ecuadorian institutional system. Her situated artistic creations, thanks to the relevance and subtle methodology of her approach—like a cannibal delicacy—become civic artivism.

 

Texte disponible uniquement en anglais

Lire aussi...