Artists Remake the World
The Series

The Series : « Aspects of contemporary art criticism worldwide »

Whether they are articles published at the end of an AICA symposium or produced by Switch (on Paper) following an international call for papers, the texts in this dossier bear witness to the diversity, singularity and permanence of an art critic whose place remains more than ever necessary to grasp the issues at stake in the world, placing artists and culture at the heart of the debate. A partnership that materializes a community of spirit and the active support of Switch (on Paper) for art critics, whose status and future are the subject of in-depth reflection.

With the support of the Emerige Endowment Fund and Région Sud within the framework of Manifesta 13 Marseille.

The Author

The Author : Dejan Vasić

Biography

Dejan Vasić is an art critic and independent curator based in Belgrade, Serbia, currently working as a visual arts program curator at the Center for Cultural Decontamination in Belgrade. He is co-editor of Beton (cultural propaganda kit) and an active member of AICA Serbia. In the past, he was a member of Kontekst Collective (2009-2013), the Culture of Memory curatorial platform (2010-2014) and the Four Faces of Omarska Working Group (2010-2015). He is interested in art as a critical and political practice, and the affirmation of critical thinking as a public good. His research and curatorial projects were part of public events and exhibitions (selection): Gathering Around the Wreckage, Oliver Ressler solo exhibition (Cultural Center of Belgrade, 2020); Art as Critics and Politics (CZKD Center 2017-ongoing); Performance, Performativity and Document (SULUV Galery, Museum of Contemporary Art of Vojvodina, 2018); Four Faces of Omarska (Dokufest, Prizren 2014; Forensis, HKW, Berlin 2014; October Salon, Belgrade 2013; Gallery of Contemporary Art, Sarajevo 2013; Urban Festival, Zagreb 2012; Center for research Architecture, Goldsmith University of London, 2012; Museum of Contemporary Art Belgrade, 2010; SpaPort Biennial, Banja Luka, 2010); The Culture of Memory (GPL Contemporary, Vienna 2014; Gallery PM, HDLU Zagreb 2014; Mediterranea 16, Young Artists Biennial, Ancona 2013; Biennial of Visual Arts, Pančevo 2012; Cultural Center, Šabac 2010).

Contributions
See all the authors +
Go deeperThesaurus

Thesaurus :

The term Extractive Capitalism refers to the extraction of raw, non-renewable mineral resources (existing predominately in Southern countries). It is inscribed in a globalized exchange market which implies the opening of borders, a facilitated circulation of foreign capital, the privatisation of subsoil, the accumulation of enormous profits by multinationals at the expense of local businesses, the looting, the expropriation, the colonisation of land and common goods. This economy leads to the exhaustion of ressources and causes durable impact on the environment.

The Anthropocene is an early 21st century concept. It designates human intervention on nature, the altering and destructive power exerted over it, enabled since the 18th century by the development of Western industrialisation and the raise of capitalism. The Anthropocene summons up natural and social sciences, notably inquiring into the acceleration of natural resources depletion, the disappearance of biodiversity and demographic pressure.

Looking at the Anthropocene as a concept defining human activity as responsible for the destruction of the environment, Capitalocene (a recently coined term) bases its argument on the internal dynamics of capitalism. It designates more specifically the mode of production, the unlimited nature of capital accumulation, deploying itself on a planet which is, by definition, limited as responsible for environmental disorders and ecosystems degradation.

Against the financialization of the economy, an alternative economy defines itself as a way out from the two largest and most acknowledged economic systems: the market economy and dirigism. Alternative economy is closer to social economy (organized around democracy, freedom and solidarity values), it rejects institutionalization and state supervision. It is the starting point for the development of LETS (Local Exchange Trading Systems).

The anti-globalization movement is opposed to the mondialisation of market economy and to neoliberalism, held accountable for multiple world scale destructions.

Schwarze Pumpe is a power station built in 1997 in the mining area of Spremberg, Germany. It is considered to be the 6th bigger European polluter with 12,4 megatons of CO2.

Partnership

Partnership :

Publishing Partnership with AICA International

This text by Dejan Vasić is published in partnership with AICA following an international call for participation launched at the end of 2019. Out of some sixty proposals for articles, fourteen have been selected and will be published from 28 August as part of Manifesta 13 Marseille within the programme « Les Parallèles du Sud ».

AICA (International Association of Art Critics) is an NGO founded in 1950 under UNESCO patronage for the purpose of reinforcing worldwide freedom of speech in the area of art criticism and ensure its diversity. Its missions include promoting the discipline in the visual arts by contributing to ensuring sound methodological foundations, protecting the moral and professional interests of art critics by defending the rights of all members equally, ensuring permanent communication among all members by encouraging national and international meetings, improving and facilitating information and international exchanges in the visual arts and contributing to reciprocal knowledge and closer understanding between differing cultures.

AICA News

 

Associate publisher, the Emerige Endowment Fund

Emerige: a proactive patron of the arts

In the firm belief that art has the power to change our daily reality, Emerige is a corporate sponsor committed to contemporary creativity by bringing culture closer to everyone, but especially the youngest in society. The Emerige Endowment Fund encourages young French artists via its Emerige Revelations Grant Scheme and its support for arts and culture educational programmes.

As a company devoted to building more beautiful cities for everyone, Emerige also contributes to bringing more art into urban communities by acquiring or commissioning contemporary art pieces under the terms of the 1 Building, 1 Artwork charter.

The Emerige Endowment Fund

 

Parallèles du Sud, Manifesta 13 Marseille

This series of publications published in partnership with AICA International (International Association of Art Critics) is one of the 86 projects labeled “Les Parallèles du Sud”, as part of MANIFESTA 13, which will take place in Marseille from 28 August to 29 November 2020.

Manifesta is the European Nomadic Biennial, which originated in the early 1990s in response to the political, economic, and social change following the end of the Cold War and the subsequent steps towards European integration. Manifesta has developed into a platform for dialogue between art and society by inviting the cultural and artistic community to produce new creative experiences with, and for, the context in which it takes place. Manifesta rethinks the relations between culture and society investigating and catalysing positive social change in Europe through contemporary culture in a continuous dialogue with the social sphere of a specific place.

Manifesta was founded by the Dutch art historian, Hedwig Fijen. Each new edition is fundraised individually and managed by a mix of permanent international team and local specialists. Manifesta is working from its offices in Amsterdam and Marseille.

Manifesta 13

Bonus

Bonus :

The entire film Everything’s coming together while everything’s falling apart: COP21

The entire film Everything’s coming together while everything’s falling apart: Ende Gelände:

The entire film Everything’s coming together while everything’s falling apart: The ZAD:

The entire film Everything’s coming together while everything’s falling apart: Code Rood:

Oliver Ressler has started a YouTube channel with his films:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUP958h4uSyvqwM076tqVrw

Around the text
Investigation by Dejan Vasić
08 October 2020

No to Climate Change, Yes to System Change

Investigation by Dejan Vasić

The environmental problems, pollution and violence of extractive capitalism that we are facing today are closely connected with the ongoing process of global warming. Artist Oliver Ressler has addressed in recent project Everything’s Coming Together While Everything’s Falling Apart the ecological and climate issues of our time while following the actions of social movements for climate justice and the crucial events against the continuation of exploitation of fossil fuels.

Read also...

Les artistes refont le monde
Le dossier

Le dossier : « Aspects de la critique d’art internationale contemporaine »

Qu’il s’agisse d’articles publiés à l’issue d’un symposium AICA ou produits par Switch (on Paper) suite à un appel à candidature international, les textes réunis dans ce dossier témoignent de la diversité, de la singularité et de la permanence d’une critique d’art dont la place reste plus que jamais nécessaire pour appréhender les enjeux du monde, en replaçant les artistes et la culture au cœur du débat. Un partenariat qui matérialise une communauté d’esprit et le soutien actif de Switch (on Paper) pour les critiques d’art, dont le statut et l’avenir font l’objet d’une réflexion de fond.

L’Association internationale des critiques d’art, (AICA) est une ONG créée en 1950 sous le patronage de l’UNESCO dans le but de renforcer mondialement la libre expression de la critique d’art et d’en assurer la diversité. Elle a pour missions, la promotion de la discipline dans le domaine de l’art en renforçant ses fondements méthodologiques ; la protection des intérêts moraux et professionnels des critiques d’art en faisant valoir, en commun, les droits de tous ses membres ; l’assurance d’une liaison permanente entre tous ses membres en favorisant les rencontres nationales et internationales ; l’amélioration et l’extension de l’information et des échanges dans le domaine des arts plastiques et la contribution au rapprochement et à la connaissance réciproque des cultures.

L'auteur

L'auteur : Dejan Vasić

Biographie

Dejan Vasić est un critique d’art et un conservateur indépendant basé à Belgrade, en Serbie, qui travaille actuellement comme conservateur du programme d’arts visuels au Center for Cultural Decontamination de Belgrade. Il est co-éditeur de Beton (kit de propagande culturelle) et membre actif de l’AICA Serbie. Dans le passé, il a été membre du collectif Kontekst (2009-2013), de la plateforme de conservation de la culture de la mémoire (2010-2014) et du groupe de travail « Les quatre visages d’Omarska » (2010-2015). Il s’intéresse à l’art en tant que pratique critique et politique, et à l’affirmation de la pensée critique en tant que bien public. Ses projets de recherche et de conservation ont été présentés dans le cadre d’événements publics et d’expositions (sélection) : Gathering Around the Wreckage, Oliver Ressler exposition personnelle (Centre culturel de Belgrade, 2020) ; Art as Critics and Politics (Centre CZKD 2017-en cours) ; Performance, Performativité et Document (Galerie SULUV, Musée d’art contemporain de Voïvodine, 2018) ; Four Faces of Omarska (Dokufest, Prizren 2014 ; Forensis, HKW, Berlin 2014 ; Salon d’octobre, Belgrade 2013 ; Galerie d’art contemporain, Sarajevo 2013 ; Urban Festival, Zagreb 2012 ; Center for research Architecture, Goldsmith University of London, 2012 ; Museum of Contemporary Art Belgrade, 2010 ; Biennale SpaPort, Banja Luka, 2010) ; The Culture of Memory (GPL Contemporary, Vienne 2014 ; Gallery PM, HDLU Zagreb 2014 ; Mediterranea 16, Young Artists Biennial, Ancône 2013 ; Biennale des arts visuels, Pančevo 2012 ; Centre culturel, Šabac 2010).

Contributions
Voir tous les auteurs +
Aller plus loinThesaurus

Thesaurus :

Le Capitalisme extractif fait référence à l’extraction des ressources minières non-renouvelables (essentiellement présentes dans les pays du sud) sous forme brute. Il s’inscrit dans un marché globalisé qui suppose l’ouverture des frontières, la circulation facilitée des capitaux étrangers, la privatisation des sous-sols, la réalisation de profits extraordinaires par les multinationales au dépend des entreprises locales, le pillage, la dépossession, la colonisation des terres et des biens communs. Cette économie tend à un épuisement des ressources et génère des répercussions durables sur l’environnement.

L’Anthropocène est un phénomène décrit à l’aube du XXIème siècle. Il pointe l’action de l’humain sur la nature, son pouvoir de modification et de destruction sur celle-ci par le biais du développement occidental de l’industrialisation et du capitalisme depuis le XVIIIème siècle. L’Anthropocène est une mise en commun des sciences de la nature et des sciences sociales qui observe notamment l’accélération de l’épuisement des ressources, la disparition de la biodiversité et la pression démographique.

Au regard de l’Anthropocène qui définit l’activité humaine comme responsable de la destruction de l’environnement, le Capitalocène (récemment apparu) appuie son raisonnement sur la dynamique interne du capitalisme. Il désigne de manière plus spécifique le mode de production, le caractère illimité de l’accumulation du capital qui se déploie sur une planète par définition limitée comme responsable des dérèglements environnementaux, et de la dégradation des écosystèmes.

Contre la financiarisation de l’économie, l’économie alternative se définit comme une issue aux deux grands systèmes économiques connus : l’économie de marché et l’économie dirigiste. Elle est plus proche de l’économie sociale (organisée autour des valeurs de démocratie, de liberté et de solidarité), et rejette l’institutionnalisation et la tutelle de l’état. Elle est à l’origine du développement des SEL (Système d’Echange Locaux).

Le mouvement anti mondialisation (anti-globalization movement) s’oppose à la mondialisation de l’économie de marché et à la pensée néolibérale, responsable de nombreuses destructions à l’échelle de la planète.

Schwarze Pumpe est une centrale thermique, construite en 1997, et située dans le bassin minier de Lusace en Allemagne. Elle est considérée en 2019 comme le 6e plus gros pollueur d’Europe avec 12,4 mégatonnes de  CO2.

Partenariat

Partenariat :

Partenariat éditorial avec AICA International

Ce texte de Dejan Vasić est publié dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec l’AICA suite à un appel à participation international lancé à la fin de l’année 2019. Sur une soixantaine de propositions d’articles, quatorze ont été retenues et sont publiées à partir du 28 août dans le cadre de Manifesta 13 Marseille au sein du programme Les Parallèles du Sud.

L’Association internationale des critiques d’art, (AICA) est une ONG créée en 1950 sous le patronage de l’UNESCO dans le but de renforcer mondialement la libre expression de la critique d’art et d’en assurer la diversité. Elle a pour missions, la promotion de la discipline dans le domaine de l’art en renforçant ses fondements méthodologiques ; la protection des intérêts moraux et professionnels des critiques d’art en faisant valoir, en commun, les droits de tous ses membres ; l’assurance d’une liaison permanente entre tous ses membres en favorisant les rencontres nationales et internationales ; l’amélioration et l’extension de l’information et des échanges dans le domaine des arts plastiques et la contribution au rapprochement et à la connaissance réciproque des cultures.

AICA News

 

Éditeur Associé, Fonds de dotation Emerige

Emerige: un mécène militant de la culture

Ce texte comme tous les textes publiés en partenariat avec l’AICA (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art) entre les mois d’août, septembre, octobre et novembre 2020, est coproduit avec le soutien du Fonds de dotation Emerige.
Convaincu que l’art peut changer le quotidien, Emerige est un mécène engagé en faveur de la création contemporaine et du rapprochement de la culture avec tous les publics, en particulier les plus jeunes. Le Fonds de dotation Emerige encourage les jeunes artistes de la scène française via la Bourse Révélations Emerige et soutient des programmes d’éducation artistique et culturelle.

Bâtisseur d’une ville plus innovante, plus durable et plus généreuse, le groupe contribue également à l’essor de l’art dans la ville, à travers l’acquisition et la commande d’œuvres d’art dans le cadre de la charte « 1 immeuble, 1 œuvre ».

Fonds de dotation Emerige

 

Parallèles du Sud, Manifesta 13 Marseille

Cette série de publications publiées en partenariat l’AICA (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art) fait partie des 86 projets labellisés « Les Parallèles du Sud », dans le cadre de MANIFESTA 13 qui se déroulera à Marseille du 28 août au 29 novembre 2020.

Créée par l’historienne de l’art néerlandaise Hedwig Fijen, Manifesta est l’unique biennale européenne itinérante qui a vu le jour dans les années 1990 en réponse aux changements politiques, économiques et sociaux qui ont suivi la fin de la guerre froide, dans un contexte d’intégration européenne. Manifesta est progressivement devenue une plateforme d’échanges entre l’art et la société où le milieu artistique et culturel est invité à produire de nouvelles expériences créatrices avec, et pour, le contexte dans lequel il s’inscrit. Manifesta repense les relations entre la culture et la société en explorant et en catalysant les changements sociaux positifs en Europe à travers la culture contemporaine, dans un dialogue continu avec la sphère sociale du lieu d’accueil.

Organisée tous les deux ans dans une ville d’accueil différente, chaque nouvelle édition a ses fonds propres et est gérée par un mix d’équipe permanente internationale et de spécialistes locaux. Manifesta travaille depuis ses bureaux à Amsterdam et Marseille.

Manifesta 13

Bonus

Bonus :

The entire film Everything’s coming together while everything’s falling apart: COP21

The entire film Everything’s coming together while everything’s falling apart: Ende Gelände:

The entire film Everything’s coming together while everything’s falling apart: The ZAD:

The entire film Everything’s coming together while everything’s falling apart: Code Rood:

Oliver Ressler has started a YouTube channel with his films:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUP958h4uSyvqwM076tqVrw

Autour du texte
Investigation par Dejan Vasić
08 octobre 2020

No to Climate Change, Yes to System Change

Investigation par Dejan Vasić

The environmental problems, pollution and violence of extractive capitalism that we are facing today are closely connected with the ongoing process of global warming. Artist Oliver Ressler has addressed in recent project Everything’s Coming Together While Everything’s Falling Apart the ecological and climate issues of our time while following the actions of social movements for climate justice and the crucial events against the continuation of exploitation of fossil fuels.

 

Texte disponible uniquement en anglais

Lire aussi...