Artists Remake the World
The Series

The Series : « AICA »

The Authors

The Author : Alfredo Cramerotti

Biography

Alfredo Cramerotti is a writer, curator and broadcaster. He is Director of MOSTYN, Wales; Advisor to the British Council Visual Arts Acquisition Committee and the Art Institutions of the 21st Century Foundation. His curatorial endeavors include three national pavilions at the Venice Biennale (2015 and 2013), the biennial Sequences VII Reykjavik, Iceland (2015) and Manifesta 8, Region of Murcia and Cartagena, Spain (2010). He is the editor of the Critical Photography book series since 2009, and his own publications include Forewords: Hyperimages and Hyperimaging (2018), Unmapping the City: Perspectives of Flatness (2010) and Aesthetic Journalism: How to Inform without Informing (2009).

Contributions

The Author : Lauren Mele

Biography

Lauren Mele is an artist, writer and researcher based in London. Her writing and research focus on contemporary art dealing with politics of objective image production. She is a MFA graduate in contemporary art at Sotheby’s Institute of Art London (2010). Recent content and research contributions include “Zarina Bhimji: Lead White,” Tate Britain (2019); Serpenti in Arte (2016); Art and Politics Now (2014); Suspended (2013).

Contributions
See all the authors +
Go deeperPartnership

Partnership :

Publishing Partnership with AICA International

This text by Lauren Mele and Alfredo Cramerotti is published in partnership with AICA following an international call for participation launched at the end of 2019. Out of some sixty proposals for articles, fourteen have been selected and will be published from 28 August as part of Manifesta 13 Marseille within the programme « Les Parallèles du Sud ».

AICA (International Association of Art Critics) is an NGO founded in 1950 under UNESCO patronage for the purpose of reinforcing worldwide freedom of speech in the area of art criticism and ensure its diversity. Its missions include promoting the discipline in the visual arts by contributing to ensuring sound methodological foundations, protecting the moral and professional interests of art critics by defending the rights of all members equally, ensuring permanent communication among all members by encouraging national and international meetings, improving and facilitating information and international exchanges in the visual arts and contributing to reciprocal knowledge and closer understanding between differing cultures.

AICA News

 

Associate publisher, the Emerige Endowment Fund

Emerige: a proactive patron of the arts

In the firm belief that art has the power to change our daily reality, Emerige is a corporate sponsor committed to contemporary creativity by bringing culture closer to everyone, but especially the youngest in society. The Emerige Endowment Fund encourages young French artists via its Emerige Revelations Grant Scheme and its support for arts and culture educational programmes.

As a company devoted to building more beautiful cities for everyone, Emerige also contributes to bringing more art into urban communities by acquiring or commissioning contemporary art pieces under the terms of the 1 Building, 1 Artwork charter.

The Emerige Endowment Fund

 

Parallèles du Sud, Manifesta 13 Marseille

This series of publications published in partnership with AICA International (International Association of Art Critics) is one of the 86 projects labeled “Les Parallèles du Sud”, as part of MANIFESTA 13, which will take place in Marseille from 28 August to 29 November 2020.

Manifesta is the European Nomadic Biennial, which originated in the early 1990s in response to the political, economic, and social change following the end of the Cold War and the subsequent steps towards European integration. Manifesta has developed into a platform for dialogue between art and society by inviting the cultural and artistic community to produce new creative experiences with, and for, the context in which it takes place. Manifesta rethinks the relations between culture and society investigating and catalysing positive social change in Europe through contemporary culture in a continuous dialogue with the social sphere of a specific place.

Manifesta was founded by the Dutch art historian, Hedwig Fijen. Each new edition is fundraised individually and managed by a mix of permanent international team and local specialists. Manifesta is working from its offices in Amsterdam and Marseille.

Manifesta 13

Thesaurus

Thesaurus :

IEDs (Improvised Explosive Devices) are explosive, incendiary or toxic weapons that incorporate chemical components and are manufactured by hand. They have been used in Afghanistan and Iraq by terrorist, guerrilla and commando forces, for example, during the conflict attacks in Afghanistan and Iraq.

PKK (Kurdistan Workers’ Party) is a Kurdish armed political organisation founded by Abdullah Öcalan in 1978. It campaigns for the independence of Kurdistan, Kurdish autonomy within a democratic confederal system in the Middle East, and the linguistic, cultural and existential rights of the Kurds. The PKK is considered as terrorist by a large part of the international community (kidnappings, armed struggle, suicide attacks).

Around the text
Investigation by Alfredo Cramerotti and Lauren Mele
Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin, The Day Nobody Died, 2008, Unique C-type, 762 x 6000 mm
17 September 2020

Conflict Reporting

Investigation by Alfredo Cramerotti and Lauren Mele
Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin, The Day Nobody Died, 2008, Unique C-type, 762 x 6000 mm

Observing the limits of photojournalism in the face of humanitarian and wartime tragedies, artists have sought ways to bear witness to human suffering freed from the grip of media and government powers. Their approach is not without problems. Perhaps their critical potential lies in testing these limits.

Read also...

Les artistes refont le monde
Le dossier

Le dossier : « Aspects de la critique d’art internationale contemporaine »

Qu’il s’agisse d’articles publiés à l’issue d’un symposium AICA ou produits par Switch (on Paper) suite à un appel à candidature international, les textes réunis dans ce dossier témoignent de la diversité, de la singularité et de la permanence d’une critique d’art dont la place reste plus que jamais nécessaire pour appréhender les enjeux du monde, en replaçant les artistes et la culture au cœur du débat. Un partenariat qui matérialise une communauté d’esprit et le soutien actif de Switch (on Paper) pour les critiques d’art, dont le statut et l’avenir font l’objet d’une réflexion de fond.

L’Association internationale des critiques d’art, (AICA) est une ONG créée en 1950 sous le patronage de l’UNESCO dans le but de renforcer mondialement la libre expression de la critique d’art et d’en assurer la diversité. Elle a pour missions, la promotion de la discipline dans le domaine de l’art en renforçant ses fondements méthodologiques ; la protection des intérêts moraux et professionnels des critiques d’art en faisant valoir, en commun, les droits de tous ses membres ; l’assurance d’une liaison permanente entre tous ses membres en favorisant les rencontres nationales et internationales ; l’amélioration et l’extension de l’information et des échanges dans le domaine des arts plastiques et la contribution au rapprochement et à la connaissance réciproque des cultures.

Les auteurs

L'auteur : Alfredo Cramerotti

Biographie

Alfredo Cramerotti est écrivain, conservateur et radiodiffuseur. Il est directeur de MOSTYN, au Pays de Galles, et conseiller auprès du Comité d’acquisition des arts visuels du British Council et de la Fondation des institutions artistiques du XXIe siècle. Ses activités de commissaire indépendant comprennent trois pavillons nationaux à la Biennale de Venise (2015 et 2013), la biennale Séquences VII Reykjavik, Islande (2015) et Manifesta 8, Région de Murcie et Carthagène, Espagne (2010). Il est l’éditeur de la série de livres Critical Photography depuis 2009, et ses propres publications comprennent Forewords : Hyperimages et hyperimagerie (2018), Cartographier la ville : (2018), Unmapping the City : Perspectives of Flatness (2010) et Aesthetic Journalism : How to Inform without Informing (2009).

Contributions

L'auteur : Lauren Mele

Biographie

Lauren Mele est une artiste, écrivain et chercheuse basée à Londres. Ses écrits et ses recherches se concentrent sur l’art contemporain traitant des politiques de production d’images objectives. Elle est diplômée d’un MFA en art contemporain au Sotheby’s Institute of Art de Londres (2010). Parmi ses contributions récentes en matière de contenu et de recherche, citons « Zarina Bhimji : Lead White », Tate Britain (2019) ; Serpenti in Arte (2016) ; Art and Politics Now (2014) ; Suspended (2013).

Contributions
Voir tous les auteurs +
Aller plus loinPartenariat

Partenariat :

Partenariat éditorial avec AICA International

Ce texte de Lauren Mele et Alfredo Cramerotti est publié dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec l’AICA suite à un appel à participation international lancé à la fin de l’année 2019. Sur une soixantaine de propositions d’articles, quatorze ont été retenues et sont publiées à partir du 28 août dans le cadre de Manifesta 13 Marseille au sein du programme Les Parallèles du Sud.

L’Association internationale des critiques d’art, (AICA) est une ONG créée en 1950 sous le patronage de l’UNESCO dans le but de renforcer mondialement la libre expression de la critique d’art et d’en assurer la diversité. Elle a pour missions, la promotion de la discipline dans le domaine de l’art en renforçant ses fondements méthodologiques ; la protection des intérêts moraux et professionnels des critiques d’art en faisant valoir, en commun, les droits de tous ses membres ; l’assurance d’une liaison permanente entre tous ses membres en favorisant les rencontres nationales et internationales ; l’amélioration et l’extension de l’information et des échanges dans le domaine des arts plastiques et la contribution au rapprochement et à la connaissance réciproque des cultures.

AICA News

 

Éditeur Associé, Fonds de dotation Emerige

Emerige: un mécène militant de la culture

Ce texte comme tous les textes publiés en partenariat avec l’AICA (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art) entre les mois d’août, septembre, octobre et novembre 2020, est coproduit avec le soutien du Fonds de dotation Emerige.
Convaincu que l’art peut changer le quotidien, Emerige est un mécène engagé en faveur de la création contemporaine et du rapprochement de la culture avec tous les publics, en particulier les plus jeunes. Le Fonds de dotation Emerige encourage les jeunes artistes de la scène française via la Bourse Révélations Emerige et soutient des programmes d’éducation artistique et culturelle.

Bâtisseur d’une ville plus innovante, plus durable et plus généreuse, le groupe contribue également à l’essor de l’art dans la ville, à travers l’acquisition et la commande d’œuvres d’art dans le cadre de la charte « 1 immeuble, 1 œuvre ».

Fonds de dotation Emerige

 

Parallèles du Sud, Manifesta 13 Marseille

Cette série de publications publiées en partenariat l’AICA (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art) fait partie des 86 projets labellisés « Les Parallèles du Sud », dans le cadre de MANIFESTA 13 qui se déroulera à Marseille du 28 août au 29 novembre 2020.

Créée par l’historienne de l’art néerlandaise Hedwig Fijen, Manifesta est l’unique biennale européenne itinérante qui a vu le jour dans les années 1990 en réponse aux changements politiques, économiques et sociaux qui ont suivi la fin de la guerre froide, dans un contexte d’intégration européenne. Manifesta est progressivement devenue une plateforme d’échanges entre l’art et la société où le milieu artistique et culturel est invité à produire de nouvelles expériences créatrices avec, et pour, le contexte dans lequel il s’inscrit. Manifesta repense les relations entre la culture et la société en explorant et en catalysant les changements sociaux positifs en Europe à travers la culture contemporaine, dans un dialogue continu avec la sphère sociale du lieu d’accueil.

Organisée tous les deux ans dans une ville d’accueil différente, chaque nouvelle édition a ses fonds propres et est gérée par un mix d’équipe permanente internationale et de spécialistes locaux. Manifesta travaille depuis ses bureaux à Amsterdam et Marseille.

Manifesta 13

Thesaurus

Thesaurus :

Les IED (Improvised Explosive Devices) sont des armes explosives, incendiaires ou toxiques qui incorporent des composants chimiques et sont fabriquées à la main. Elles ont été utilisés en Afghanistan et en Irak par des terroristes ou des commandos, par exemple, lors d’attentats en Afghanistan et en Irak.

Le PKK (Parti des travailleurs du Kurdistan) est une organisation politique armée kurde fondée par Abdullah Öcalan en 1978. Il fait campagne pour l’indépendance du Kurdistan, l’autonomie kurde au sein d’un système confédéral démocratique au Moyen-Orient, et pour les droits linguistiques, culturels et existentiels des Kurdes. Le PKK est considéré comme terroriste par une grande partie de la communauté internationale (enlèvements, lutte armée, attentats suicides).

Autour du texte
Investigation par Alfredo Cramerotti et Lauren Mele
Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin, The Day Nobody Died, 2008
17 septembre 2020

Conflict Reporting

Investigation par Alfredo Cramerotti et Lauren Mele
Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin, The Day Nobody Died, 2008

Observing the limits of photojournalism in the face of humanitarian and wartime tragedies, artists have sought ways to bear witness to human suffering freed from the grip of media and government powers. Their approach is not without problems. Perhaps their critical potential lies in testing these limits.

 

(Texte disponible uniquement en anglais)

Lire aussi...