Artists Remake the World
The Series

The Series : « AICA »

The Author

The Author : Çiğdem Zeytin

Biography

Çiğdem Zeytin (born 1981 in Krefeld, Germany) is an Istanbul-based art critic. She completed her undergraduate education at Anadolu University in the Faculty of Communication Sciences, Department of Advertising, Public Relations and her master’s degree at Anadolu University’s Institute of Social Sciences, Department of Art Science, Fine Arts Theory and Criticism. She is working as an independent art critic, writing critiques and conducting interviews with contemporary artists from Turkey and around the world. She is a member of the Body Processing Arts Association and of amberPlatform. She became a member of the International Association of Art Critics (AICA) in 2018. She supports the activities of the association as an elected member of its board of directors.

Contributions
See all the authors +
Go deeperPartnership

Partnership :

Publishing Partnership with AICA International

This text by Çiğdem Zeytin is published in partnership with AICA following an international call for participation launched at the end of 2019. Out of some sixty proposals for articles, fourteen have been selected and will be published from 28 August as part of Manifesta 13 Marseille within the programme « Les Parallèles du Sud ».

AICA (International Association of Art Critics) is an NGO founded in 1950 under UNESCO patronage for the purpose of reinforcing worldwide freedom of speech in the area of art criticism and ensure its diversity. Its missions include promoting the discipline in the visual arts by contributing to ensuring sound methodological foundations, protecting the moral and professional interests of art critics by defending the rights of all members equally, ensuring permanent communication among all members by encouraging national and international meetings, improving and facilitating information and international exchanges in the visual arts and contributing to reciprocal knowledge and closer understanding between differing cultures.

AICA News

 

Associate publisher, the Emerige Endowment Fund

Emerige: a proactive patron of the arts

In the firm belief that art has the power to change our daily reality, Emerige is a corporate sponsor committed to contemporary creativity by bringing culture closer to everyone, but especially the youngest in society. The Emerige Endowment Fund encourages young French artists via its Emerige Revelations Grant Scheme and its support for arts and culture educational programmes.

As a company devoted to building more beautiful cities for everyone, Emerige also contributes to bringing more art into urban communities by acquiring or commissioning contemporary art pieces under the terms of the 1 Building, 1 Artwork charter.

The Emerige Endowment Fund

 

Parallèles du Sud, Manifesta 13 Marseille

This series of publications published in partnership with AICA International (International Association of Art Critics) is one of the 86 projects labeled “Les Parallèles du Sud”, as part of MANIFESTA 13, which will take place in Marseille from 28 August to 29 November 2020.

Manifesta is the European Nomadic Biennial, which originated in the early 1990s in response to the political, economic, and social change following the end of the Cold War and the subsequent steps towards European integration. Manifesta has developed into a platform for dialogue between art and society by inviting the cultural and artistic community to produce new creative experiences with, and for, the context in which it takes place. Manifesta rethinks the relations between culture and society investigating and catalysing positive social change in Europe through contemporary culture in a continuous dialogue with the social sphere of a specific place.

Manifesta was founded by the Dutch art historian, Hedwig Fijen. Each new edition is fundraised individually and managed by a mix of permanent international team and local specialists. Manifesta is working from its offices in Amsterdam and Marseille.

Manifesta 13

Thesaurus

Thesaurus :

Land Art

A trend in American art that appeared in the 1960s, initially outside the usual exhibition and institutional spaces, widening the scope to include natural sites. It is characterized by the use of natural materials such as wood, water or air in creations exposed to the elements and subject to natural erosion, introducing a new concept of the duration and durability of works.

Earth Art

Earth Art is a variant of Land Art, which also emerged in the 1960s, and which uses the earth as a terrain and as a basic material for the creation of works in situ. These works are often monumental and extend into the landscape, leaving a permanent mark on it.

Environmental Art

Environmental Art creates objects that are usually exhibited outdoors, with a formal translation and economy of means that are more discreet than the monumental and sometimes violent interventions of Earth Art and Land Art. Environmental Art focuses more specifically on nature than on landscape.

Ecological Art

Emerging in the 1960s, Ecological Art is linked to the observation of contemporary environmental issues such as the extinction of biodiversity or climate change. In collaboration with scientists, architects and researchers, it focuses on the effect of human action on nature and seeks to raise awareness through in situ creations and positions in the public space.

New Age

A Western spiritual movement theorized by the American psychologist and writer Marilyn Ferguson in 1980 in her book The Aquarian Conspiracy, New Age is a syncretic blend of various practices and beliefs, drawn in particular from certain Hindu (metempsychosis – reincarnation), Indian and Tantrayana schools. It announces the transformation of individuals through spiritual awakening, and by extension, the transformation of the world.

Around the text
Investigation by Çiğdem Zeytin
Ozan Atalan, Nelipot, 2019, video installation
10 September 2020

Art as a Last Escape Before the Apocalypse

Investigation by Çiğdem Zeytin
Ozan Atalan, Nelipot, 2019, video installation

Since the 1960s, artists have been concerned with environmental issues. Much has happened in the last sixty years: the ecological needs pointed out by the artists have become concrete, today’s new generation develop their own relationship with ecology and the environment.

Read also...

Les artistes refont le monde
Le dossier

Le dossier : « Aspects de la critique d’art internationale contemporaine »

Essais et investigations
Un partenariat avec AICA International

 

Qu’il s’agisse d’articles publiés à l’issue d’un symposium AICA ou produits par Switch (on Paper) suite à un appel à candidature international, les textes réunis dans ce dossier témoignent de la diversité, de la singularité et de la permanence d’une critique d’art dont la place reste plus que jamais nécessaire pour appréhender les enjeux du monde, en replaçant les artistes et la culture au cœur du débat. Un partenariat qui matérialise une communauté d’esprit et le soutien actif de Switch (on Paper) pour les critiques d’art, dont le statut et l’avenir font l’objet d’une réflexion de fond.

L’Association internationale des critiques d’art, (AICA) est une ONG créée en 1950 sous le patronage de l’UNESCO dans le but de renforcer mondialement la libre expression de la critique d’art et d’en assurer la diversité. Elle a pour missions, la promotion de la discipline dans le domaine de l’art en renforçant ses fondements méthodologiques ; la protection des intérêts moraux et professionnels des critiques d’art en faisant valoir, en commun, les droits de tous ses membres ; l’assurance d’une liaison permanente entre tous ses membres en favorisant les rencontres nationales et internationales ; l’amélioration et l’extension de l’information et des échanges dans le domaine des arts plastiques et la contribution au rapprochement et à la connaissance réciproque des cultures.

L'auteur

L'auteur : Çiğdem Zeytin

Biographie

Çiğdem Zeytin, née en 1981 à Krefeld (Allemagne), est une critique d’art qui vit et travaille à Istanbul. Elle a étudié à l’Université Anadolu en Sciences de la Communication, Département Publicité, Relations Publiques et obtenu une maîtrise de l’Institut des Sciences Sociales, Département Science de l’Art, Théorie des Beaux-Arts et Critique d’Art. Elle travaille aujourd’hui comme critique d’art indépendante, en relation avec des artistes de Turquie et du monde entier. Elle est membre de l’association Body Processing Art et d’amberPlatform. Elle fait partie depuis 2018 de l’AICA International et participe aux activités de l’Association en qualité de membre du Conseil d’Administration.

Contributions
Voir tous les auteurs +
Aller plus loinPartenariat

Partenariat :

Partenariat éditorial avec AICA International

Ce texte de Çiğdem Zeytin est publié dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec l’AICA suite à un appel à participation international lancé à la fin de l’année 2019. Sur une soixantaine de propositions d’articles, quatorze ont été retenues et sont publiées à partir du 28 août dans le cadre de Manifesta 13 Marseille au sein du programme Les Parallèles du Sud.

L’Association internationale des critiques d’art, (AICA) est une ONG créée en 1950 sous le patronage de l’UNESCO dans le but de renforcer mondialement la libre expression de la critique d’art et d’en assurer la diversité. Elle a pour missions, la promotion de la discipline dans le domaine de l’art en renforçant ses fondements méthodologiques ; la protection des intérêts moraux et professionnels des critiques d’art en faisant valoir, en commun, les droits de tous ses membres ; l’assurance d’une liaison permanente entre tous ses membres en favorisant les rencontres nationales et internationales ; l’amélioration et l’extension de l’information et des échanges dans le domaine des arts plastiques et la contribution au rapprochement et à la connaissance réciproque des cultures.

AICA News

 

Éditeur Associé, Fonds de dotation Emerige

Emerige: un mécène militant de la culture

Ce texte comme tous les textes publiés en partenariat avec l’AICA (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art) entre les mois d’août, septembre, octobre et novembre 2020, est coproduit avec le soutien du Fonds de dotation Emerige.
Convaincu que l’art peut changer le quotidien, Emerige est un mécène engagé en faveur de la création contemporaine et du rapprochement de la culture avec tous les publics, en particulier les plus jeunes. Le Fonds de dotation Emerige encourage les jeunes artistes de la scène française via la Bourse Révélations Emerige et soutient des programmes d’éducation artistique et culturelle.

Bâtisseur d’une ville plus innovante, plus durable et plus généreuse, le groupe contribue également à l’essor de l’art dans la ville, à travers l’acquisition et la commande d’œuvres d’art dans le cadre de la charte « 1 immeuble, 1 œuvre ».

Fonds de dotation Emerige

 

Parallèles du Sud, Manifesta 13 Marseille

Cette série de publications publiées en partenariat l’AICA (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art) fait partie des 86 projets labellisés « Les Parallèles du Sud », dans le cadre de MANIFESTA 13 qui se déroulera à Marseille du 28 août au 29 novembre 2020.

Créée par l’historienne de l’art néerlandaise Hedwig Fijen, Manifesta est l’unique biennale européenne itinérante qui a vu le jour dans les années 1990 en réponse aux changements politiques, économiques et sociaux qui ont suivi la fin de la guerre froide, dans un contexte d’intégration européenne. Manifesta est progressivement devenue une plateforme d’échanges entre l’art et la société où le milieu artistique et culturel est invité à produire de nouvelles expériences créatrices avec, et pour, le contexte dans lequel il s’inscrit. Manifesta repense les relations entre la culture et la société en explorant et en catalysant les changements sociaux positifs en Europe à travers la culture contemporaine, dans un dialogue continu avec la sphère sociale du lieu d’accueil.

Organisée tous les deux ans dans une ville d’accueil différente, chaque nouvelle édition a ses fonds propres et est gérée par un mix d’équipe permanente internationale et de spécialistes locaux. Manifesta travaille depuis ses bureaux à Amsterdam et Marseille.

Manifesta 13

Thesaurus

Thesaurus :

Land Art

Tendance de l’art Américain apparue dans les années 1960, qui se questionne in situ dans un champ élargi aux sites naturels, initialement en dehors des espaces habituels de monstration et institutionnels. Le Land Art se distingue par l’emploi de matériaux naturels comme le bois, l’eau ou l’air au sein de créations exposées aux éléments et soumises à l’érosion naturelle, en introduisant une nouvelle conception de durée et de pérennité des œuvres.

Earth Art

L’Earth Art est une variante du Land Art, également apparue dans les années 1960, et qui fait de la terre un terrain de jeu et un matériel de base pour la réalisation d’œuvres in situ, souvent monumentales, et s’étendant dans le paysage en y laissant une emprunte permanente.

Art Environnemental

L’Art Environnemental crée des objets, exposés la plupart du temps en plein air, avec une traduction formelle et une économie de moyen plus discrète que celle des interventions in situ monumentales et parfois violentes de l’Earth Art et du Land Art. L’Art Environnemental se questionne de manière plus spécifique sur la nature que sur le paysage.

Art Écologique

Apparu dans les années 1960, L’art Écologique est lié à l’observation des problèmes environnementaux contemporains que sont l’extinction de la biodiversité ou le réchauffement climatique. En collaboration avec des scientifiques, des architectes et des chercheurs, l’Art Écologique pointe l’action de l’humain sur la nature et cherche à éveiller les consciences par l’intermédiaire de créations in situ et de prises de position dans l’espace public.

New Age

Courant spirituel occidental théorisé par Marilyn Ferguson en 1980 dans son livre Les Enfants du Verseau, le New Age est un assemblage syncrétique de pratiques et de croyances diverses, puisées notamment dans certaines écoles Hindouistes (métempsycose – réincarnation), Indiennes et du Tantrayana. Le New Age annonce une transformation des individus par le biais de l’éveil spirituel, et par extension celle du monde.

Autour du texte
Investigation par Çiğdem Zeytin
Ozan Atalan, Nelipot, 2019, video installation
10 septembre 2020

Art as a Last Escape Before the Apocalypse

Investigation par Çiğdem Zeytin
Ozan Atalan, Nelipot, 2019, video installation

Since the 1960s, artists have been concerned with environmental issues. Much has happened in the last sixty years: the ecological needs pointed out by the artists have become concrete, today’s new generation develop their own relationship with ecology and the environment.

Texte disponible uniquement en anglais

Lire aussi...